Welcome to the ozgolf.net forums.
+ Reply to Thread
    Senior Member Touring Pro (PGA)

Default I broke my wrist playing golf

I’d been having pain in my left wrist on the pinky side for quite a few months, managing it pretty successfully with beer & voltaren. I hadn’t been to a Dr about it but with all the rain that we’ve had & not playing as much it was a good opportunity to let it heal. I hadn’t hit a ball in awhile but when I did the pain was present straight away & actually worse. I had a couple of big match play comps coming up recently so I started practicing & playing more frequently to dial it in & deal with whatever was happening afterwards. Pain was still there & unfortunately led to quite a few shanks as I wasn’t able to grip it with 100% strength but still manageable.
    So I’m booked in to play last Thursday at Glenmore Heritage & I’m actually hitting the ball really well , looking forward to the events I was in for Saturday/Sunday, still with discomfort but doing ok. I get to the Par 3 9th, playing 139m wind into us from the right. I hit a PW stinger with a little draw, minimal contact with the turf & as soon as I hit it i hear a massive crack & feel two big movements in my wrist. I let the club go & say “I’ve broken my wrist”. I lose all strength in my hand & it starts to swell.
    I leave after that & head straight to a medical centre, phoning on the way to make sure they do X-rays, casts etc. I didn’t go straight to the hospital as I had trailer on my car. I get dicked around no end & after getting X-rays the Dr tells me to come back 3pm Saturday to get results as he tells me he’s not working until then & he doesn’t know if it’s broken because he’s not a radiologist.
    I’m wife works nights & I’ve got two young blokes so I don’t go to the hospital until Friday morning. Nepean hospital looked after me amazingly. By this stage my hand is a balloon, they have to cut my wedding ring off & I get all necessary scans.