Welcome to the ozgolf.net forums.
+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

Default Newbie from WA looking for advice...

Hi All,

Not sure if this is the correct forum for this post (mods please move if better elsewhere...).

I'm looking to return to playing golf at the age of 37 y/o, following a long hiatus. To cut a long story short, I've had to give up my primary sports of soccer & running, due to injury, so looking for a new hobby! Growing up in Scotland I played a lot, from a very early age until about 14 y/o... but gave the game up due to competing interests. I've played on the odd-occasion since then... I can swing a club (but have little control!) and I am familiar with golf etiquette, but essentially I'd be starting again as a complete novice/beginner.

Looking for suggestions on the best way to get back into the game...?

I'm thinking about investing in a cheap set of clubs, second hand (any recommendations?), to get me started again. I'm also thinking about some lessons, so I can iron out any issues with my swing/grips, etc...

I'm based in WA, I live quite centrally in Perth, but spend a lot of time SOR. Could anyone recommend a good instructor/club for lessons?

Any other relevant advice most welcome...

Site Owner Golf Hall of Fame Inductee

Hopefully some WA members chip in with local advice, but some second hand sticks would be a good way to start.

Quote Originally Posted by AndyP View Post
    Hopefully some WA members chip in with local advice, but some second hand sticks would be a good way to start.
    Cheers! Another quick question... when looking for a second hand set of clubs. I’m pretty tall, 6’2”, would a standard size set of clubs be okay to get started, or should I look for something a bit bigger?

Senior Member Touring Pro (Nationwide Tour)

WA based here... and pretty much went through the same as you a few years back.