Welcome to the ozgolf.net forums.
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: AJ’s Swing

Default AJ’s Swing

Newbie here but thought I’d share me hitting a 3 wood. I have been more or less swinging like this for the last 20 or so years. I kinda went against what most of the coaches in the past taught me and only took away a few things like trying to keep my upper body working together on the way down, not having a flying elbow, and having a weaker grip.
    I’m pretty unflexible which is why my swing is what it is.
    Last edited by AJL; 18th August 2019 at 12:22 PM.

One from last week. I hit the ball straighter when I take the club back inside and I hit pulls when I try to take it back square and on plane *shrugs*
    Still a work in progress.

Member Touring Pro (Von Nida Tour)

I wouldn't really concern yourself with "plane" dude. Think function, not anything else. I mean my first advice to you is to go and see a pro and get a lesson, my second thought for you is the takeaway is very shallow, would try and have more tilt at the waist, take the club away a bit steeper and then shallow it out on the downswing. I'm not a pro, but from having my own swing assessed and having similar traits earlier on in my game, then this is what I worked on.
    WITB:
    Taylormade M3 9.5 Aldila Rogue X Stiff 70g
    Taylormade M1 3 Wood Aldila Rogue X Stiff 70g
    Mizuno MP20 MMC 4-6 with DG X100 shafts hard stepped.
    Mizuno MP20 Blade 7-P with DG X100 shafts hard stepped.
    Vokey SM7 50/08, 54/10, 60/08. 50deg in DG X100, 54deg & 60deg in S300.
    Scotty Cameron Newport Select 2.5
    Titleist ProV1

On plane is probably the wrong word to use, on line might be better lol. I have the same thoughts about my swing to be honest. Both of your suggests are things that I've looked at on youtube, will give it a go this week at the range. Don't think there's really a drill for more spine angle other to just bend over more, check infront of a mirror and get comfortable with it right?