Welcome to the ozgolf.net forums.
+ Reply to Thread
    Senior Member Touring Pro (PGA)

Default My quest for consistency ...

Just to give you a quick background ...

I used to play off single figure handicap (lowest ever was 6 when I was in uni) with a pretty consistent swing. Didn't hit it that far but far enough to reach most par 4's in two. My short game was never the best but was OK when I was playing on a regular basis.

Around 2005, I decided I wanted more distance. I started training specifically for speed and power. I worked with chains, lighter clubs, heavier clubs etc. I gradually started to lose accuracy. Duck hooks were slowly creeping into my game.

In 2006 I was diagnosed with a pituitary tumour and had surgery in 2007. My body blew up from a relatively slim 65kg to a chubby 95kg. My swing shape changed and the consistent swing that I had became nothing but a distant memory ... My swing no longer had any consistency about it. Left, right, low wormburners, high balloons ... I started to play less and less golf. When I hurt by back just under 2 years ago lifting weights, I decided to give up the game completely.

Anyway, back to the present. My back is better and I started to play again 2-3 months ago. Still scoring crap and with the new handicap system, my handicap blew up from 12 to 18. My big problem is keeping the ball in play. OB's, water hazards, lost balls in trees ... these are killing my scores.