PDA

View Full Version : kwantfm's swing - help!!!

kwantfm
7th November 2007, 06:57 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTsSUIsbiGY

Hi all,

I'd like to request a little help with my swing. Let me give you a little background.

I've been playing golf for almost 20 years picking up the game at the (too late) age of 16. I'd been a reasonable tennis player and have some level of hand/eye coordination although was never a great sportsman. I am now a struggling 14 handicapper. I reached 11 at my peak (on an A-grade Sydney, Australia course). I have broken 80 only once, but it was on a championship Peter Thompson designed course.

Let's fast forward to now. I'm the father of two young children and work demanding hours, so there is not much time for golf. But, like many here, I dearly love this game and have spent considerable sums on golf club membership and equipment (much more on the latter in the past few years and after discovering websites like this). I now only manage to play a full round perhaps once every quarter. The main problem is that I don't play frequently enough to have my (major) faults grooved. My quarterly games are therefore increasingly discouraging.

What are my recurring faults?
I tend to stand up through my downswing and hit the ball with very high hands. Impact tends to be off the toe. My bad miss is a spear right. Good shots tend to start right with a little draw. I believe that these various flight patterns are explained by my getting a little stuck on the downswing. I define stuck as the clubhead lagging well behind my hands through the downswing or the clubhead being below plane. Ideally I'd like the clubhead to be directly in line with my hands when my hands are hip height on the downswing but right now the clubhead tends to be further away from the target line. If my timing is good on a particular swing I'll recover and hit an okay shot... otherwise one of the above bad shots will occur.

What am I currently working on?