PDA

View Full Version : How old and how long....

terryand
1st October 2004, 06:29 PM
OK guys and Gals, time to fess up to how old you where when you started playing golf and how did you get into it.

Also how long have you been playing for.

I started when I was 15,in 1980, when one of my Mates who was a couple of years older than me, that worked on the green staff at the old long pocket course( now Indooroopilly) suggested we go for a game.

After I laughed at him he convinced me to go with him. So off we go T shirt,stubbies and sand shoes(no socks), great golf attire.

After the starter had a quite word to us he let us on for a hit, and well... the rest is history.

So that means I have been playing for 24 years, only for fun up until 1987 when Indro hit us with a levy, so I thought I better start playing seriously to get my monies worth.

Terry.

drunken
1st October 2004, 08:02 PM
Played from about 13 when I had a bit of a hit with my Dad & Uncle. Played fairly seriously until I was 15 & had my handicap down to 13.

Played maybe three rounds a year until I was 19 when I started playing somewhat seriously again, so have been playing regularly for about 8 months now.

amanda
1st October 2004, 08:16 PM
I originally was intersted in golf because the bosses at my work played and at our Monday group lunch it was all they ever talked about!

So I told Brad that I wanted to learn how to play golf [age 23]. We went to the local goat track and Brad hired me a half set and I hacked around for 18 holes - thoroughly frustrated but still enjoying myself! After 2 rounds with hired sticks, he bought me a cheap $400 set (including the bag/buggy). I had a few lessons with a pro and played the goat track once a fortnight for a couple of months.