PDA

View Full Version : Too much practice?

AndyP
24th September 2004, 04:17 PM
My matchplay final is coming up. It is to be played on Sunday, October 3 in the afternoon some time.

So for practice I will be playing in the Saturday comp. I will also be having one or two range sessions during next week. But I'm not sure if I would be over-doing it, if I played 9 or 18 holes on the Sunday morning beforehand. I've never walked 36 holes in a day. Maybe a round of pitch-n-putt will suffice. :?

What are your thoughts?

Ducky
24th September 2004, 04:28 PM
I found when I started playing 12 holes each afternoon after TAFE, and 36 holes on my days off, I lost my rhythm and feel, and started playing like absolute crap. You would assume the more practice, the better you will play, but Golf is the exception in my case.

My advice would be to get as much practice in as you can without over doing it (so you remain fresh), and try not to change anything in regards to your game before your match. The last thing you want is to have to focus on swing thoughts or new techniques. Remember, you have to dance with who you brang (Who said that? Was it Arnold Palmer?).

Kind regards,

Ben (Ducky).

Flowergirl
24th September 2004, 04:28 PM
My advice would be to put in a practise session on the range beforehand. Just go over all your shots and reinforce that you can reproduce them on the course during the game. A solid session of putting - so when you need to make that putt - you know that you did it in practise so you can do it now. Keep it simple and use it as a confidence builder.

I would be concerned that if you played beforehand and played badly - you'd only worry " what if I do that in the game".

You know you can do it - that's why you are in the final. Believe in yourself and stay focused without putting pressure on yourself.