PDA

View Full Version : Ice ray sleeves

bdoug10
2nd February 2022, 09:28 PM
Anybody use these or something similar?

Playing at 11:30 Sunday and if it stays as hot as it has been doesn’t sound to fun.

Looking for ways to stay a bit cooler

benno_r
2nd February 2022, 09:33 PM

Playing at 11:30 Sunday and if it stays as hot as it has been doesn’t sound to fun.

Looking for ways to stay a bit coolerBeen using them ever since I started playing in Malaysia 10yrs ago. They are relatively confortable, look super dorky, but I use them to prevent sweat running down onto my hands. The sun protection is an added bonus.

markTHEblake
2nd February 2022, 09:41 PM
Its your arms... when you are hot wave a fan over your arms, did it help? No. The sleeves are for sun protection. The effect of moisture wicking material is true, but its not gonna help your body heat one iota. I guess they market it that way to make em trendy.

If you wanna be cooler, there is better things to do, like the ice neck thing <<amazing! loose fitting shirt over a skin tight vest is good, drink water with a electrolyte additive etc etc, gob a 1/4 of orange every few holes

I swear by the ice neck thing, but stopped using it because it washes away the sunscreen

bdoug10
2nd February 2022, 10:14 PM
Maybe I’ll put my clothes in the freezer before I play or just my hat

markTHEblake
2nd February 2022, 10:39 PM
Time to harden up. I have played 5 or 6 days in row at >45C heat. No sweat. The good part is you dont have to warm up before playing.

henno
2nd February 2022, 10:53 PM
I honestly find temp less of a concern than humidity. As long as I keep my fluids (and sunscreen) up in >45C dry heat, I can adequately sweat and maintain a comfortable body temp. The same cannot be said for a 35C day with >90% humidity.

Either way, fluids are still everything.

Source: Lived in Karratha for year and a half, saw >45C quite regularly, and was never hotter than a 35C day in a Cairns or Darwin summer.

3Puttpete