PDA

View Full Version : Golf balls

JoeS
26th February 2018, 12:15 PM
Does the different composition of the ball make much difference.I used to think not,I have been using Mizuno mp-s balls for a few years and thought they were ok.Never really see them for sale let alone other golfers using them,price tag probably had a lot to do with that though.

So now I dont have my cheap ball supply I had to go out and buy some.Chrome soft looked a good price for a dozen so handed over the hard earned and played them for the first time on the weekend.I already hit with ok distance,but hi spin off the iron face.A few times on the weekend I landed on and check spun off the front,but I thought I was hitting it longer with both irons and driver.

So my question,does a soft cover help to increase spin?What would be a slightly harder ball to try that would bring the spin down a little?

okitoki
26th February 2018, 12:25 PM
how do you find putting with them?
I played a Pro V1s I had sitting in the bag... feels great off the driver and irons, but boy, it was hard for me the gauge my putting distance. Kept under putting.

Changed back to my Vice Tour on the 10th hold, and was back to putting normally.

JoeS
26th February 2018, 01:20 PM
how do you find putting with them?
I played a Pro V1s I had sitting in the bag... feels great off the driver and irons, but boy, it was hard for me the gauge my putting distance. Kept under putting.

Changed back to my Vice Tour on the 10th hold, and was back to putting normally.Ok so far.I have been getting most putts to or past the hole.

PapaBravo
26th February 2018, 06:33 PM
There are 2 different elements you are bringing into play here. The cover, and what it is made out of, as well as the compression of the layers inside the ball.