PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Clubs - What to get?

Tjoobie
2nd January 2016, 09:04 PM
Hi all,

I'm brand new to the game of golf. I've been playing for about 1 month 3 times a week (including range days) and i've decided I need to get some clubs for between $500-$700 that will actually fit me (i'm 6'4 and small clubs are just hard to play with).

I went to the Ping Online Fitting guide at http://www.ping.com/fitting/nflightweb.aspx and input the following:

Male
Right Hand
Handicap ~30
193CM tall
92cm Wrist to floor
19cm hand length
8.5cm longest finger
Sliced right drives of about 175m

This gives me an output of 45.75" for a driver length, Green Dot irons and a 5L Grip (Round for Driver and woods). I'm also terrible at putting (both long and short)

I've been looking around at different clubs but just can't get a grip on what to purchase (second hand is fine), or whether I should just get a generic set from a pro shop for ~$600 and get underway? Any ideas on a good way to start would be so appreciated!

oldracer
2nd January 2016, 10:10 PM
Get properly fitted, I'm 6'3" and got the same result, absolutely different with a proper fitting, at that point you can grab some awesome sticks with your budget and welcome

Icestorm959
3rd January 2016, 11:53 AM
Get fitted for the length and lie only of your irons, you wont have a repeatable swing worth fitting for at this point, and driver you dont really want to play longer than 45 as you lose a fair bit of accuracy with a longer shaft.
Then try and find something on here or ebay that matches your fitted specs for length on the irons.

Tjoobie
5th January 2016, 10:37 PM
Okey. I went and got fitted for my length (+0.5") and lie (upright 2*).

I have purchased the following clubs:

XR Pro Irons
SLDR Mini Driver (since I just cant seem to get my driver shots on the fairway often enough.)
Yes! Jennie C Putter

Going to grab some vokey wedges in 50 and 56* to complete the set.

Whats everyone think?

Hatchman