PDA

View Full Version : Dabbler trying to get a bit more serious

Kphn07
9th November 2015, 02:56 PM
As the title says, I'm just starting out. I took some advice I found on here and had a lesson with Warren at Gungahlin lakes in Canberra and bought my first set of clubs. I don’t exactly have much to compare him with but I thought he was awesome and would highly recommend him to anyone looking.

I’m hoping to start playing 9 holes one afternoon every fortnight after work and as often as my social life and bank account will allow on the weekends.
I have a couple of questions but would also love any advice you have on where to start from here.

Do I need a handicap right away? And how do I go about getting one? I had a quick look on the net and it seemed to be a bit of a cash grab from different companies telling me I had to have an official this and an official that :-s
Also; should I join a club yet or just start playing and worry about a membership later?

Thanks in advance

Dotty
9th November 2015, 03:20 PM
Welcome and join a club. (Gungahlin Lakes is the best value course of decent quality in ACT.)

Avoid the temptation of the cheap $100 Howlong membership. You'll be hit with visitors fees, if you live within 50km of the ACT course.

3Puttpete
9th November 2015, 04:48 PM
Join a club. As long as you can get around, and this is the most important thing, without holding your group and everyone behind you up you'll be ok. Let the rest of your group know you're new and you'll be fine.

wazamac
9th November 2015, 06:23 PM
When I first started I just went down to the local 9 hole public course with all the hackers first. Then after about 6-8 months after I could consistantly hit the ball (not always in the right direction) then I joined a club.
This also gave me a little insight into some of the rules and etiquette.
Welcome aboard, and most of all have fun!

Kphn07
10th November 2015, 09:16 AM