PDA

View Full Version : So, what makes a good/great golf course??

goughy
12th April 2006, 05:48 AM
I may be asking for trouble posting this question, so remember the responses will most likely be very opinionated and everyone is entitled to their own opinion. You don't have to agree with it, but you have to respect it.

I have little to no knowledge on the subject of course design. In fact, the only thing I know or have heard on the subject is that a good course should have 6 difficult, 6 moderate and 6 easier holes; the easier holes to allow a breather at times etc etc. Other than that they need some tees, some greens and hopefully something inbetween.

Fishy eluded in the hijacked lakelands thread just how few golf courses I have played, considering that on and off I've been playing for 20 years. These are the courses I've played in my life - Mt Coolum (once), Middle Ridge (Toowoomba GC), City GC, Gailes, Redcliffe (once), Horton Park, Chinchilla (once), Clifton(once), Borneo Barracks, Nudgee North (once) and South, Jindalee, Indooroopilly (once). Not a long list. And the only coursesI can say I didn't enjoy were Mt Coolum, but I don't think that was the golf. I'm not a big fan of 9 holes courses as I like to 18 greens for my $20bucks.

Strangley enough City GC is where the vast majority of my golf is played and I still love playing it. It may not seem a difficult course, It may not seem exciting (tons of holes do go straight back and forth from each other), but the hilly nature of much of it does present some interesting problems which I am only just now understanding the relevance of. Many of the courses I've played do have flatish landing zones off the tee. City presents many side hill lies off the tee requiring at times an awkward stance, having to account for a drawn of faded second shot, and also taking a portion of the fairway out of play off the tee depending on your shot shape. To me that tightens up the course.