PDA

View Full Version : Newish to the game - can play ok, but...

driftn69
5th July 2015, 06:39 PM
Hi all,

This is my first post since joining the forum.

Now I'm fairly new to the game. I have been playing once or twice a year for the past 4-5 years. Of recent it's more so twice a week with a day at the range when I can.
Now I've only just started using the swing x swing golf app on my phone and am seeing some real improvement in my game almost to the point where I'm dropping shots every round. So much so that although I only have 4 rounds on my golf app it is giving me a projected handicap of 11.9. Now I have colleagues and friends that have been playing for years are pretty much golf nuts that have higher handicaps. Now to have a handicap of 11.9 is it also normal to mis hit say 1 in 5 shots? Sometimes so badly that its a grubber drive that may travel 40 meters?
How long would it generally take to see mis hits leave my game.

mrbluu
5th July 2015, 09:01 PM
Welcome to the forum and good golfing!!!

The shitty shots will never leave, they just get less..

https://youtu.be/TM6NjM_zmEQ

JADO75
5th July 2015, 09:26 PM
Welcome, 11.9 off the social tees?

driftn69
5th July 2015, 10:50 PM
Yea correct, social tees. I think my projected handicap would be much higher - is just I seem to jag 1-2 long range putts per round for a birdie. I assumed the projected handicap was lower as I have only completed 4 rounds?
I guess it's all part of the game but when I miss hit a shot is a shocker.

Daves
6th July 2015, 06:47 AM
Most bad mishits can be fixed by a decent teaching Pro. Spending a little on a lesson or 2 now will remove some frustrations later, and you are new enough to the game to have not yet completely ingrained bad swing habits.

As others have said, bad shots never totally leave, but you can limit them with a good set up routine and some lessons.

And welcome to the forum.

Dotty
6th July 2015, 07:59 AM
Nice intro and welcome aboard.

Where do you play?