PDA

View Full Version : 2 Ball & Mallet Putters - Little guidance

Micdeez
15th October 2014, 08:13 AM
I have currently been putting on a Nike Method 4i centre shaft.

Whilst I have enjoyed practising with it, I happened to demo 2 "high MOI" putters at my local:

Odyssey Versa 90 2-Ball
Odyssey Versa Sabertooth

I was in love with both! I'm a beginner, and I was literally sinking 9/10 4-5 footers, and that's a huge stat for a newbie. It must seriously be that easy.. Tried with my Method and I was probably getting 6/10 so I'd love to upgrade to one of the Odyssey's, whatever can assist me putt better :). I've been told that I have a straight back straight through swing.

I'm pretty split on either. Both look nice on address and alignment aids I like. I suppose I wanted to get some feedback from you guys before I make a purchase if you were in a similar position.

Cheers

Dotty
15th October 2014, 08:35 AM
Sounds like you have found the double-bend shaft is working well for you.

If I only had those to choose from and I've never got on with two-ball putters, then the Sabretooth would get the nod.

Also not a fan of the plastic face insert either, so personally, I'd go with a Ping Ketch

Micdeez
15th October 2014, 08:56 AM
Thanks Dotty. I didn't get to demo any Pings so I'll see how I go. Personally I didn't mind the Odyssey inserts, the sound was different but not distracting.

I was hoping to use the coupon codes on Golfbox :)

Dotty
15th October 2014, 09:16 AM
If you have $99 burning a hole in your pocket, then PPGL may be worth a visit...

http://www.pureperformancegolflabs.com.au/club-fitting/#putter-fitting

3Puttpete
15th October 2014, 09:20 AM

Johnny Canuck
15th October 2014, 09:35 AM

Whilst I have enjoyed practising with it, I happened to demo 2 "high MOI" putters at my local:

Odyssey Versa 90 2-Ball
Odyssey Versa Sabertooth