PDA

View Full Version : Best irons for 10 handicap

GolfTourettes
29th August 2014, 08:31 PM
So I've been playing for about 7 months and lost quite a few strokes. Now that I know my swing and game better I feel as though my starter clubs (cg16) just aren't giving me what I now want. I'm really looking to buy a set that's 'hopefully' going to push me right down to low numbers. I've been searching for a few weeks now but am just putting a question out to you all.

If this sounds like this was you at some point in your career looking to challenge yourself and attack that next stage, id like to hear your insight or any reviews/feedback about the weapons you chose.

Cheers.

meh
29th August 2014, 08:33 PM
Get some callaway apex. There are some for sale on here ;)

mrbluu
29th August 2014, 08:38 PM
Get some callaway apex. There are some for sale on here ;)

They are actually quite good for low to mid markers. Them and AP2's, i20/i5 and whatever else that suits your eyes.

simmsy
29th August 2014, 09:04 PM
I bought mp63 when on 12.
Now on 7.6 and have moved to mp64.
They are plenty forgiving enough and very accurate.

Captain Nemo
29th August 2014, 09:07 PM
I bought mp63 when on 12.
Now on 7.6 and have moved to mp64.
They are plenty forgiving enough and very accurate.
But your a flusher old man!
;)

Dotty
29th August 2014, 09:10 PM
I was just reading an article on this, and it gave TM Speedblade and Call. Apex the gold, Nike VRS Covert Tour Forged the silver and Cobra BioCell the bronze. (Titleist UK didn't provide clubs for the comparison.)

Cobra BioCell work for me, mainly because of the 85g steel shaft and I need help launching the ball up.

Don't fall into the trap of getting 'player irons', thinking that you'll 'grow into them'. At a 10 handicap, the lack of forgiveness will ultimately hurt the bottom line of your scorecard and you'll probably go backwards.

ps. Plus have a look at whatever irons wbennett now has - Mizuno H4?

AndyP
29th August 2014, 09:13 PM