PDA

View Full Version : Driver and Hybrid advice

Bucko
1st May 2014, 09:18 AM
Been playing around 18 months, and get out on the course around 2-3 times a month. Handicap is currently 21.

I'm currently using a TM Burner Superfast 2.0 driver that I got off ebay for $80 around 9 months ago. It does the job, but I've got itchy fingers and want to upgrade to something newer. Golfbox have the TM Jetspeed for $219, and I also have a $50 off voucher that brings it down to $169 with free delivery. I'm really struggling to pass that up.

I've read good things about the Jetspeed, is that a natural progression from my current driver ?

I know I should go to a demo day or a shop and try it, but just after peoples thoughts at this stage.

Also I don't carry a hybrid in my bag, I have a 15 degree 3-wood, and my 4 Iron is 20 degree (TM Speedblade) I find I get caught in between these clubs sometimes, my local course has a couple par 3's that are a bit short for the 3 wood and a bit long for my 4 iron.

I'm thinking of picking up a second hand 17 or 18 degree hybrid to give it a run, or ideally one that you can adjust the loft on like the TM R11s hybrid.

What are peoples thoughts on this idea about filling the gap with a 17 or 18 degree hybrid ? I have heard that Hybrids hit a little longer than the equivalent lofted Iron, so maybe the 18 or even a 19 is the way to go.

I can't post on the classified forum yet, so if anyone has a 17 or 18 degree RH reg flex hybrid they are looking to part with let me know !

mrbluu
1st May 2014, 09:25 AM
Been playing around 18 months, and get out on the course around 2-3 times a month. Handicap is currently 21.