PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on wedges..

Waddzy
31st January 2013, 11:08 AM
Hey all ,

Im currently using my normal irons 5-SW razr blacks bent 2 deg upright with 1/2 longer shafts , also playing a 58* raw cally jaws wedge.

Was thinking of getting and playing a 52* , my 58* and a 64* and dropping my SW from my set as it will most likely not be needed.

As im still fairly new to all this was wondering what others are gaming from their PW down and possibly point in the direction of a good set of wedges priced decently. ( not sure what ill be up for cost wise)

Cheers.

Iain
31st January 2013, 11:40 AM
If you are only new to golf, I wouldn't think about trying to play a 64° wedge.

popper81
31st January 2013, 11:43 AM
Iain is correct..... In the hand of the wrong person, a 64* wedge will cost you plenty more shots than it will save you. You can get plenty of loft with a 58* anyway.

Dangals
31st January 2013, 12:01 PM
agreed - I play a 52/58 combo and I can open the 58 if I want more loft. I used to use a 64 but only from bunkers as from anywhere else it was nerve racking that if you didn't hit it perfectly it either just flopped a few feet in front of you or it skinnied across the green into bunker/hazard etc... it will also come down to the loft of your SW in the set as you may find a different combo of wedges may suit you better.

mrbluu
31st January 2013, 12:29 PM
Personally if find 6* is too much in terms of gap for wedges. I carry 50/54/58, this gives me a good 15m gap all the way down from PW. It will really depend on what shot you can play with each club and how far you can hit them.

Waddzy
31st January 2013, 12:34 PM