PDA

View Full Version : GPS, range finders or posts in the ground ?

Waddzy
17th January 2013, 09:01 PM
Hey all ,

As I am still very new to this great game I'm just wondering how many of you all use GPS or range finders , do they really help that much ? The price tags on them leads me to hope they do very much so .

If you do use them , GPS or range finder better suited to the learning golfer ?

matty
17th January 2013, 09:28 PM
I'd say GPS when learning as you'll spend a bit more time on other fairways and often won't see the pin or the green clearly. Once you improve and spend more time on the right fairway you'll become mainly interested in distances to the pin. Then get the rangefinder.

mrbluu
17th January 2013, 09:29 PM
I've got both and the Laser win hands down. Get something with pinseeker technology and you'll be set. I think the laser saves me at least 3-4 shots a round.

Waddzy
17th January 2013, 09:33 PM
Any suggestions on brands etc ? Not sure I've also seen those iPhone GPS apps , in particular golfshot ? Anyone had experience using these ??

AndyP
17th January 2013, 09:35 PM
You can't use the iPhone GPS app in a comp, Waddzy.

jaybam
17th January 2013, 09:36 PM
Illegal to use your iPhone on the course

Waddzy
17th January 2013, 09:42 PM
Fair call , haven't played comp yet ( this weekend first round hopefully) but good to know, so normal gps is fine but ? Range finders are the best way to work out club distances too right?

3Puttpete
17th January 2013, 09:43 PM
I'd say GPS when learning as you'll spend a bit more time on other fairways and often won't see the pin or the green clearly. Once you improve and spend more time on the right fairway you'll become mainly interested in distances to the pin. Then get the rangefinder. This! I like my golf course and often view holes from unconventional angles and the GPS is great.

mrbluu
17th January 2013, 09:47 PM