PDA

View Full Version : Question for the mid-low HCPers

aym
7th September 2012, 04:52 PM
How long did it take for you to get from “never played” to “consistently hitting good shots”? And also how often do you practice?

And here is my rant, I’ve been playing for 5 years now, first 2 years probably was just messing around, then I got serious, took lessons, practiced A LOT… however I could never consistently hit solid shots, for a while I was a consistently in the low 80s, irons was reasonably accurate to the extend that it gave me birdie chances, however out of nowhere I am back in to the high 90s and low 100s… no idea why.

Funny thing is when I was hitting it well I don’t actually know why, it’s almost like closing my eyes and I was just flushing it.

How the how do you maintain one simple working swing?

HELP!

Webster
7th September 2012, 05:05 PM
How's your short game?

Ferrins
7th September 2012, 05:14 PM
I went from 13 to 5 and then joined OZgolf and now I'm off 12. Avoid getting any advice from here.

davepuppies
7th September 2012, 06:11 PM
What does your coach say?

Self diagnosis is dangerous, you may have fundamental swing flaws that need correcting before fringing out hours of practice?

Toolish
7th September 2012, 09:15 PM
I started at about 15 years old. Was single figures by 18ish playing fairly solidly for 6 months of the year, then taking 6 months off with seasons. In season practice was 3-4 nights a week after school and at least 18 holes both days on weekends. Due to the amount of play I hit it pretty solid but it was timing related.

18-23 I was at uni, golf stayed about same level. Then started working and spent about 3 years working bloody hard on my swing 2-3 nights a week for 60-120 mins (depending on light) and playing most weeks. After 3 years I was down to 5, went from hitting a weak fade to a nice draw. Lowered a balloon ballflight and overall went from a semi chopper who needed timing to play off 9 to a pretty solid golfer.