PDA

View Full Version : Mixing iron shafts

Stuartd147
4th March 2012, 05:36 PM
I had been playing my Miura PP-9003's for 3-4 months with DG SL S300's softstepped through the whole set (4-PW,GW,56,60), these have all been spined, lie/loft checked, etc. I had nice distance gaps between 6 iron through to 60* wedge. I hit the 6 iron 150m but could only hit the 5 iron about 156 and the 4 iron about 163. I was struggling to get the ball up nicely with these two clubs and the ball would just drop. I think also, when I hit these two clubs I am generally going for more of a "distance" or "carry" type of shot rather than an accuracy one so I probably tend to try and hit them a bit harder.

Anyway, 3 weeks back I replaced the 4/5 shafts with Project x 5.0's that I had laying around. The results are great, I now get about 163 with the 5 and 174 with the 4 iron. So I am happy again.

I realise I could swap all of the shafts over to Px 5's, but I am hitting the ball well and we are in the middle of B Pennants (playing #1 and unbeaten so far!!!). I would probably pick up distance on every club but as I mentioned I am very confident with direction and distance with the other shorter clubs.

I would guess most of us mix and match all of our clubs when you think about your driver shaft, then your FW or hybrid shafts, then most irons are often different to your wedge shafts.

Anyone else tried this with their longer irons? ......stu

PeteyD
4th March 2012, 05:51 PM
People do it with the hybrids.

Daves
4th March 2012, 05:52 PM
People do it with the hybrids.

And driving irons. I guess flighted shafts are sort of mixed shafts as well.

peter_rs
4th March 2012, 06:07 PM
No issuse if it does effect you, px to dg sl would be a couple of swing weights different

Stick with the px and I will buy the dg sl ;)

Stuartd147
4th March 2012, 06:09 PM
Pete, I have them all at D2 but the PX are just heavier overall which probably helps slow me down a touch.

supo67
6th March 2012, 04:22 PM