PDA

View Full Version : Is it really worth it?!

sirdaan
17th January 2012, 08:34 PM
I'm just a social player of golf at the moment. I like heading out with my stepson (who is a member of the local golf club and has made SAPSASA teams) or even just go out by myself. I get intimidated when people I don't know watch me play and often fluff the shot if they do.

I aim to play once a week. As I am a teacher I get my share of holidays, so during that period it is more than once a week if I can help it. At some stages during the year it becomes once a month, so it all sort of evens itself out to ABOUT once a week.

Getting a "handicap" doesn't worry me so much at this stage, because at the moment my avg score per round is about 104. Therefore am not going to want to play competitions on the weekend either due to my poor ability, especially around a crowd.

So my question to you is, "is it really worth getting a club membership?"

My local golf club charges $800. I know that compared to many other courses that is very cheap. But I also play cricket, and that only costs me $150. To front up with $800 is a big deal for me. I know in the long run by paying $35 each time I am paying way more than $800/yr but I pay that as I go so it doesn't seem like such a big deal.

I also remember reading in an earlier thread that members think social players are scum sometimes, but I don't get that. I pay my way each time and don't hold people up... if they are catching me I wait and let them through.

So what's the advantages of becoming a member? Why did you become one? What's your advice to me?

Cheers
Dan

catch22
17th January 2012, 08:53 PM
I would ask whether you can pay monthly, then its hurts less when your forking it out!
I am lucky and only pay $365 per year, so for me it works out way ahead - but at $35 per week it sounds like you would be better off getting membership (unless you quit/get injured).