PDA

View Full Version : Links Port Douglas

mike
12th July 2005, 11:18 PM
Ah, forget it.

Courty
19th August 2005, 10:09 PM
I disagree, Mike. The Links is not a course to forget. It is higher than Paradise Palms on the Top 100 Public Access courses (Paradise Palms is a former Top-10 course before Daikyo reduced the greenkeeping budget).

The Links is surrounded by mangroves and crocodile infested waters instead of fescue and burns. But essentially, it is still a Links course, at the mercy of the sea-breezes, scattered with healthy dose of pot bunkers, huge-undulating putting surfaces and even a token double green. I'm no expert in course design, so I'll leave that to the design boffins (G69?), but The Links is a classy (but difficult) course in a magnificent setting.

Is that what you were going to say, Mike :?:

mike
19th August 2005, 11:23 PM
I disagree, Mike. The Links is not a course to forget. It is higher than Paradise Palms on the Top 100 Public Access courses blahblahblah...
Is that what you were going to say, Mike :?:

Nah mate. Last month I played Port Links in the Inter Club Challenge. I'd never played there before so I started this thread asking if anybody had played there , if anybody had any advice, or at the very least throw in a "no mike , haven't played there but have a great game anyway".

Didn't get a single reply so I thought "stuff it, nobody here gives a rats about anything north of Caloundra " so I edited the post to what you see now.

While I'm here however, I've got to say it was the most incredible golfing experience of my life. Best course I've ever played. Just awesome.

We played a stableford off the blues in a howling gale. Luckily my 3 playing partners had played there before and , as best they could , let me know where to hit and where not to hit.