PDA

View Full Version : Serious Q on iron play.

Marto65
24th February 2011, 10:38 AM
My iron play is appalling (like some of my spelling, but you get the drift).

I'm pretty much self taught ... so I have a question regarding iron play, because I've never discussed it with anyone at length.

So .. how do I put this ...

When you're say ... 150 metres out ... (about 6 iron) ... do you ..

A) Aim at the pin (or mid green) and try to push your swing to draw it back in ... or
B) Aim at the edge of the green, and either draw or fade your shot to the middle of the green or pin.

I hope I have explained that ok ... I currently hit between 4-6 greens a round ... but I'm hitting the driver pretty good and should be hitting 9ish ...

I realise it might be a bit different with a 4 iron ... and different again with a wedge/9iron ...

Let me know your thoughts ...

Marto.

Daves
24th February 2011, 10:45 AM
For longer irons I usually aim for the spot with the greatest margin for error, usually the middle or middle left or right depending on where the short side is. For 7i in more likely to be dead aim. I really only look to seriously shape the shot if I have to i.e around an obstacle or to allow for the wind or to combat a difficult lie.

Moe Norman
24th February 2011, 10:57 AM
Having played with you once, I agree that your iron play certainly doesn't match the rest if your game. Routinely missing greens from the centre of the fairway would piss me off no end, luckily I'm rarely in the centre of the fairway, so I don't have that issue.

In answer to your question, its a very individual thing imo.

One trap people can fall into is trying to shape shots when there is no need to do it. If the pin is in the middle and you have a clear line at it, why not just try to hit it straight? If you have a natural shape, allow for it (but plan for the possibility of it going straight).