PDA

View Full Version : Joining my first club - Wollongong area

Gomer
22nd February 2011, 10:03 AM
Hey guys looking at joining my first ever club in a few weeks. I'm pretty much a hacker and I'm new to golf. I live in Figtree and am going to become the night shift supervisor at work (2:30pm - 10:30pm shifts) and will have plenty of time to play during the week and I'm addicted to golf, so the logical thing to do is become a member of a club. Plus I can get a handicap and when I'm a bit more confident I can play in comps.

My selection criteria is it needs to be close'ish. Because I need to get to work at 2:30, and I'm a sweaty man so I'll need to shower before work. Also needs to be relatively cheap. So anyway the clubs I've been looking at have been Port Kembla, Kembla Grange, Shellharbour Links and Wollongong. I've pretty much ruled Wollongong out as $1,130 a year is a bit outrageous, and there is a $600 nomination fee (what is this btw?). The other courses I've listed are around $700 which is reasonable.

I played Kembla Grange last weekend and the course was in pretty good nick, wasn't hard as long as you hit the fairways (I'm use to playing Calderwood and having no trees along the fairways makes it pretty easy and there is no premium on hitting the fairways). I got the feeling it would get pretty boring playing 3 or more days a week, as the holes were pretty straight forward, only a few bunkers here and there. Also I've heard they have bad water management issues and the back or front 9 gets water logged pretty easily? Have they fixed this?

Haven't played Port Kembla or Shellharbour in a while and can't remember much about them. I remember Shellharbour was insanely difficult for a beginner, very hilly and crap loads of hazards. I read on these forums that they cleaned it up a little and removed a lot of the bunkers since I last played. How is the course now?