PDA

View Full Version : ISDN

Jarro
14th April 2005, 03:55 PM
..any thoughts :?:

i've been told we won't be getting ADSL here for quite some time and that ISDN would be a much better alternative to our dialup (shudup Pete) :evil:

any of you Ozgolfers had any experiences with this :?:

Fishman Dan
14th April 2005, 04:33 PM
Jarro - not sure of what costs you've been quoted, but they aren't really compatible. There are far fewer telco's who offer ISDN services.

I think Blakey used to have an ISDN service at his old place?

Jarro
14th April 2005, 04:47 PM
Jarro - not sure of what costs you've been quoted, but they aren't really compatible. There are far fewer telco's who offer ISDN services.

I think Blakey used to have an ISDN service at his old place?

thanks Fishy :wink:

Blakey .... any thoughts :?:

markTHEblake
14th April 2005, 06:44 PM
Jarro, you are asking in the right place. I have been using ISDN for over 2 years now, and there wouldnt be much I dont know about it.

In short, pay Telstra $89 a month, and that includes phone rental, two phone lines, Internet costs (unlimited everything) and phone call costs to connect to the internet.

Another way to describe it, is that if you have two phone lines in the house ( or were thinking about it ) you would have to be an idiot not to go with ISDN, as overall its cheaper than two ordinary phone lines.

Grunt
15th April 2005, 11:10 AM
Mark

What are the access speeds like? I have been told it is only marginaly better than dial up. I also are one of those in an area where we have missed out on technology even thought the area is only 7 years old. No ADSL, No Cable, No Unwired, No adequate mobile coverage & a pair gain telephone system from the 1940's

3oneday
15th April 2005, 11:12 AM
telephone system from the 1940'sthat's too modern for QLD Grant :idea: :idea:

:lol: :lol:

Fishman Dan
15th April 2005, 11:25 AM
Mark