PDA

View Full Version : Using irons

Jakester1288
21st May 2010, 07:04 PM
Now I'm only new to golf, and this forum, and the biggest problem in my game is one of the most important - using irons.

I struggle massively on the fairways, but around and on the green and off the tee I am decent.

My friend has pointed out I hit far in front of the ball, any way to stop this happening?

I'm looking for simple advice, as I don't know the terms of golf yet, but any advice is really appreciated.

Yossarian
21st May 2010, 07:06 PM
Where are you based mate?

Jakester1288
21st May 2010, 09:41 PM
Near Coffs Harbour, in NSW.

I plan on making a small barrier type thing for me to belt balls into, so I don't lose them, haven't got around to that yet. Should be good to practice with that constantly.

Jakester1288
26th May 2010, 09:22 PM
Golf's a funny game. Normally I'm good off the tee and on the green, today I played terrible with them, but for once, I played good with the irons (by my standards).

I started to take practice swings and see where my club was coming down in relation to the ball and tried to adjust accordingly, which sort of stopped me hitting a long way behind the ball.

Yossarian
26th May 2010, 09:25 PM
Lessons mate. Or latch on to a low marker.

I think to think square clubface, hands ahead of clubhead at impact.

hocko
26th May 2010, 09:30 PM
Could be a brazzilan of things Jake...take it to the local pro or like Yoss said, get a heads up from some who hits irons well.

goonie
28th May 2010, 08:00 AM