PDA

View Full Version : Morgys swing - PLEASE advise further..

morgy
4th December 2009, 11:21 PM
Hey guys,
I videoed my swing a few weeks back for my own viewing; however, I thought i'd upload it in the interest of getting some constructive feedback. I started playing about 11 months ago and have only dropped 5 shots off my handicap since. Realistically i'm playing bogey golf and I have set myself the goal of getting to 12 by January, with the view of playing every day over xmas.

By way of personal specs; I am 6ft and am playing 0.5" over. My distances are (roughly):
PW - 125
9 iron - 135
8 iron - 145
7 iron - 155
6 iron - 165
5 iron - 172
4 iron - 180 - avoid using
3 iron - 185 - avoid using
5 wood - 200
3 wood - 230
Driver - 270

I have only had one lesson back in April and it screwed me up so this is basically my natural swing, pretty much the same as when I started. I hit the ball REALLY high with a slight fade which creates problems in the wind. Any advice on how I could limit my fade and hit a lower flight would be appreciated.

Here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZyMU4BfuJZo

zacdullard
4th December 2009, 11:30 PM
Nice grass.

Looks good but I think that it looks a little wristy at take away.

morgy
4th December 2009, 11:33 PM
Nice grass.

Looks good but I think that it looks a little wristy at take away.

Yeah mate, I've been told it's pretty wristy. I was just reading an article that said you shouldn't break your wrists until you're past your right knee??? I'm going to try the on the range tomorrow.

virge666
5th December 2009, 09:32 AM
Perfect takeaway... nice to see - it is fantastic to about hip height.

All i would do is bring some control into it. You look like every swing is about 110%

And you also look like you hit high draw shots, I would get you hitting some "release fades" to bring some control to you game...

dan
5th December 2009, 09:36 AM