PDA

View Full Version : Help Judging Distance

waratah
4th September 2009, 09:32 AM
I'm still very new to this game, but one thing I find very challanging is being able to judge distances to greens. Even if I know the distance from course markers, knowing what club to pick, how hard / fast to swing gets very confusing. There just seems to be so many variables - club, lie, wind, height of green. Geez it makes my head spin trying to figure it out. In the end I normally just pick whatever club my hand hits first in my bag.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Courty
4th September 2009, 09:49 AM
GPS/ range-finder?

markTHEblake
4th September 2009, 09:53 AM
In the end I normally just pick whatever club my hand hits first in my bag.

Sounds like you are young to the game. Sorry, but the real answer in determining the impact of the effects of contours and wind lies in experience.

In the meantime, you will be far better off if everytime you decide which club to hit, you then hit one more. eg if you decide it is a 7 iron, hit a 6.

because the vast majority of golfers approach shots finish short of the green.

Daves
4th September 2009, 09:54 AM
It is called experience! Learn from your mistakes and also when you get it right. Write it down if you have too.

Ned
4th September 2009, 09:55 AM
Sounds like you are young to the game. Sorry, but the real answer in determining the impact of the effects of contours and wind lies in experience.

In the meantime, you will be far better off if everytime you decide which club to hit, you then hit one more. eg if you decide it is a 7 iron, hit a 6.

because the vast majority of golfers approach shots finish short of the green.

Still got that problem MTB ?:roll:

:wink:

kev
4th September 2009, 09:59 AM
Used to have this problem too.

Solved a lot of problems by going to the range and hitting full shots with all clubs - about 10 to 15 balls per club, and taking the average distance hit (ignoring topped and bladed balls!).