PDA

View Full Version : Interlock vs Overlap grip?

goonie
30th July 2009, 12:32 PM
Interlock vs Overlap grip?

I have always user the interlock grip, (even before I knew tiger did) because it just felt more comfortable, but I am not sure it isn't causing me issues sometimes, eg. quite often if I am having a bad swing day I find, after the round :-), that my left hand gets a little strong and causes problems, and I don't even notice the grip has changed. Also due to my squash days my left side (arm, hand and shoulder) is much stronger than my right, and I think this grip may be allowing my right hand to dominate the swing sometimes. And example of this is when I started playing squash again after a few years off, I began hooking/pulling the ball rather badly until I stopped playing squash again.

So I tried the Overlap grip at the range last night, it felt terrible, but was hitting the ball ok, and if anything a little more right than normal, but straight. except the driver which I pulled/hooked quite a bit.

So any of you swing gurus have any ideas on this, am I barking up the wrong tree?
Any Pros and Cons for these grips?

Chris32
30th July 2009, 12:57 PM
I was taught to interlock by my Dad, and the only ever golf book I read was by Jack Nicklaus. I gripped that way from when i was about 10 until I was 25. The last few years I switched to a overlap grip after reading the book by Elkington.
I switched mid round after playing quite badly, and found the overlap grip was easier to release the club, so I stuck with it. Feels normal now. I do go back to a interlock grip if I need to hit a fade, as it keeps the club open just enough to hit a fade/slice

Minor_Threat
30th July 2009, 01:33 PM
Interlock here also. That is the way I was taught and have stuck with it. I have tried the overlap for something different while practising, but it feels to weak..

virge666
30th July 2009, 02:58 PM
I have a problem with a very weak right hand in my grip.