PDA

View Full Version : Putting Myths

Mayhem
9th July 2009, 10:48 PM
I don't usually read Australian Golf Digest as I have a subscription to another golf magazine but I picked up a copy at the airport last month to read on the plane.
Not a bad read but I won't change my subscription. It was good to see Ozgolf get a plug in the travel section though. West Aus is just the best!!

Anyhow....there is a article in there about putting myths by Pat O'Brien. It talks about three things that are no-no's when putting: Myth correction

1) 'Grip it in the lifeline' instead grip it in the fingers
2) 'Set your eyes over th ball' set your eyes inside the line of the ball and not over the ball.
3) 'Swing straight back and through' Swing the putter through an arc and not straight back and straight forward.

I was shocked as I was guilty of all three and have infact been practicing what they say never to do. I am not a great putter but as I have been practicing I have been improving. I have never gone sub 30 for 18 but I have reduced my three putts per round.

The theory in the mag sounds okay. Does anyone 'in the know' agree or disagree with the sugestions from Pat? any opinions would be appreciated.

Scottt
9th July 2009, 10:52 PM
Eyes over the ball or inside - personal preference
Arc stroke of straight back straight through - personal preference

So yeah, I disagree!

virge666
9th July 2009, 10:58 PM
1 - Always in the life line - it takes the little muscles out of the putting stroke.

2 - Eyes definitley behind - most of the top putters do this.

3 - Can be either - up to you. Match the putter to the process.

Michaeljames92
9th July 2009, 11:03 PM
Well don't all putting strokes have a little arc in them? Isn't it almost impossible to keep the putter straight back and then manipulate it to go straight on the forward swing? Utley is an endorser of the 'arc' stroke seems a much more easier method than SBST

Scottt
9th July 2009, 11:09 PM