PDA

View Full Version : Lessons

Yossarian
6th July 2009, 09:30 PM
Is it possible to play decent golf without lessons?

Any self taught single figures players here?

Thinking of taking the plunge.

Johnny Canuck
6th July 2009, 09:34 PM
Got to 4, 100% self taught.

I have had two lessons in the last year in a half. One lesson to eliminate a pull hook that was haunting me. The guy got rid of it in 30 seconds. The second lesson was simply showing me why I hit certain shots.

I don't practice or hit the range, so I don't really want anything that I would have to work on.

Yossarian
6th July 2009, 09:37 PM
Freak.

Will you be my Yoda?

Other opinions?

henno
6th July 2009, 09:39 PM
I got to 20. Totally self-taught. I am a golfing god.

Johnny Canuck
6th July 2009, 09:41 PM
Approx, what do you play off Yoss, if you were to have a handicap?

Yossarian
6th July 2009, 09:45 PM
Mid to high 80's. A really bad round will usually be closer to a hundred than ninety though. Have the odd round low eighties. So prolli 20 or so as well.
I have only been playing a year and a bit.

Courty
6th July 2009, 09:50 PM
I achieved an all time low of 5 off my own bat. I've come to know my own swing so well, that I'm actually scared of getting a pro to tinker with it.

Yossarian
6th July 2009, 09:52 PM
So two for no lessons and low markers to boot. Freaks.

Johnny Canuck
6th July 2009, 09:54 PM
The guy I went to works out of a driving range near adventure world. he keeps it very simple and i rate him very highly. if you wanted to test the waters of a lesson, it would only cost you $40.

Yossarian
6th July 2009, 09:55 PM
Sounds promising. Contact details?

Johnny Canuck
6th July 2009, 09:59 PM
I'm PM them as soon as I get off my ass and get my phone..

Yossarian
6th July 2009, 10:01 PM
Cheers JC

Any others here that do take lessons? What do you see as the benefits ect?

zacdullard
6th July 2009, 10:11 PM
I do the high school group clinic.