PDA

View Full Version : Got measured up what next?

Pieface
22nd June 2009, 11:23 AM
Hi Guys,

I went and did the clubfit thing at Drummond golf on the weekend. I got a bunch of measurements but I don't really know how they relate to things and if the clubs they gave me to try are much chop...I am a total noob at this type of thing so be gentle!

So basically I'm 200cm (6'5") and have a reach of 32". The program said I needed shafts of 38.75", how much longer is that than standard? It also said that gave me a recommended lie angle of 63 degrees.

My swing speed was averaging about 75mph so they said regular flex in steel was the best option. Does this sound right?

They gave my a few different clubs to try based on this information. I liked the Maxfli Black Max set the best but I can't seem to find anything about lie angles etc on these clubs. Is it likely that they are the correct angle or just one of the closer matched sets from off the shelf? They wanted $540 for the set which is Driver, 3 & 5 Wood, Hybrid 3 and 4-PW in the irons. I am happy to spend in that area pricewise but I already see I can get the same set for ~$180 less through one of the online guys in 1" over standard length.

So basically I am wanting to know if these clubs are actually suited to my measurements and if I should just save the cash and buy online or if there are better options if I take the same budget ~$550 and shop online. At the moment I am hitting low 50's for 9 holes and my biggest weakness, barring putting, seems to be hitting long irons consistently and hitting my approach shots accurately which is why the shop recommended wide sole, cavity backs I think.

Any help greatly appreciated :)

Pieface.

Courty
22nd June 2009, 11:56 AM
I think standard length is 37.5" (5 iron), so that'd be 1.25" over. Lie angles are a much more personal thing, so it is what it is. Swing speed sounds a little slow for someone of your size, but that'll improve as your technique does.