PDA

View Full Version : DVD's

Fishman Dan
19th May 2004, 08:53 AM
While we're at it..

The missus has green-lighted the DVD player. Plenty of the seratonin in her head after shopping for a new lounge the other day - she was keen to buy the first one we saw :shock:

So what do i need to know? They're all around $200 and under. I like a Philips machine because it's got a 3 year warranty. LG has a similar unit for $169. Both have Progressive Scan, which apparently means crap if you don't have a progressive scan TV :?:

I guess they all support the different formats out there? What are the gotcha's i need to know about? Will they all play any dodgy DVD's brought back from overseas that we might pick up from a friend?

Just a tip - just because i work in IT doesn't mean i understand this crap. There is NO truth to the saying "If it's got electricity, it's IT" [-X :smt076 :smt098

McMw
19th May 2004, 09:01 AM
for those DVDs that u will get back from OS, and want to play on your new dvd player, you'll need to make sure that the player is capable of playing all zones... (ask the salesperson)...

my dvd player plays all zone...except for Zone 1 (US) only becoz I haven't got access to a Zone1 DvD yet... :lol:
but it plays the copies and aus DvD very well!!! :D

ah...life is grand here...20 bucks for 3 DvDs... :lol:

Fishman Dan
19th May 2004, 09:12 AM
The salesman muttered something about zones yesterday, and i think the LG's/Samsung's etc support more zones than perhaps the Philips. I think that's the only stumbling point...

markTHEblake
19th May 2004, 09:21 AM
Fishman.

The basic rule of thumb for DVD players, is if you have never heard of the brand and the price is too good to be true then its perfect. Yes i am talking <$100.

These players are mosy likely to play all formats, like SVCD, MP3, Picture CD, Region Free without mods.