PDA

View Full Version : Low Ball Flight

FlyBallDavo
21st January 2009, 08:31 PM
Hey guys,

I am 6ft 3 and have a low drawing ball flight. My 3 iron off the deck would not get more than 10m off the ground (if that). My golf ball obviously does not carry as far in the air and has no chance of holding a green. Off the tee however it is much better.

I have had lessons to re-structure my swing when I started playing seriously 3 years ago. My swing became too flat after this and since then I have brought it back up a little to what I feel is now a good height.

My ball flight however is still low. Any ideas on how to get it higher by still hitting a draw?

Dotty
21st January 2009, 09:55 PM
Waiting for Jack's suggestion of a 7 wood.

Have you looked at hybrids? Both these options are designed to have the weight low and further back to help get the ball in the air, and used as an alternative to a 3 iron.

Grab a demo or two from your local pro, and give the hybrid a try, probably around 18* -20* loft. (Alternatively, pop over to a demo day/night at your local range.)

Davo, is it only the three iron, or 4 and 5 also ?

Golfnut
21st January 2009, 10:17 PM
Good option Dotty.... I used to hate my 3 iron, avoided it like the plague.....I went for a 3 hybrid when I upgraded my gear and it made a world of difference.....mind you, didn't think 10m high ball flight for a 3 iron would be considered that bad FBD :-k

adlo
21st January 2009, 10:46 PM
Johnny Canuck?? He hits a low draw but can elevate when required. He should help.

Have you tried a little more spine tilt? Or moving the ball forward in your stnace?

Johnny Canuck
21st January 2009, 11:01 PM
When I need to hit it higher I make sure my weight doesn't creep ahead of my hands before impact. I also hold my head (and only my head, not my entire body) a little higher at address.