PDA

View Full Version : Help for a n00b...

Ralph
29th June 2008, 10:39 AM
Hi everyone,

I am new to the world of golf. I use to play once or twice a year. Since the being of the year I am trying to play most weekends.

I have 2 questions. I can only really play on weekends as i work weekdays (although day light savings may mean a quick 9 once during the week).
Question 1:
Is getting club membership worth it ? I find it hard in winter to get on and play more then 9 holes and have to play late afternoon as everywhere has comp... which is why i am considering membership ... from what i understand membership basically lets me play for free during social times (Which i can't really do due to work) and allows me to play competition.. are there any other benefits? I currently go around about 2 over a hole (with one or 2 bad holes where i might shoot a 9-10).. playing comp would the people i get teamed with with care that i am S hite?

Question 2 (which is why i put in the course talk)...
I live in western sydney - acacia gardens/quakers hill... What would be a good club to join. Cash isn't a major issue and happy to pay for something if it meant i got good value (i.e not joining castle hill).

I dont mind driving up to about 30 mins to play. Currently thinking about Ashlar or Cumberland (My slice doesnt not like the skinny fairways at Fox Hill). I have seen the proposal at Ashlar about the possible member transfer to stonecutters... which I am guessing would be a very nice course.... but reading the forums here, if the Ashlar proposal doesn't go through then Ashlar would be down the toliet with its debt.

Any advice on the above two questions is muchly appreciated :)))

Cheers
Brendon

Scottt
29th June 2008, 03:18 PM
Brendon,

Basically, divide the membership fee by the social 9 hole fee and if the number of rounds is less than you will play, it's good value. Seeing as you won't be playing comp, handicap isn't really much help to you.