Welcome to the ozgolf.net forums.
+ Reply to Thread

Default Beginner needs Brisbane courses with practice/driving range area?

Hi guys. I'm a beginner golfer that can't hit the side of a barn if I haven't had the chance to warm up all my clubs before a round. I would like to know what courses in Brisbane have a practice area or driving range. (include sunshine coast if you know of any because I do play the sunshine area sometimes)

I have played:

Victoria Park close to city:
    The Good
    - Excellent modern driving range
    - Driving range balls are in good condition.
    - Driving range open to 10pm 7 days
    - Driving range floodlit
    The Bad
    - Driving range $15 for 105 balls not cheap.
    - Driving range not flat so judging how far you're hitting not easy
    - The actual course is poor. Very hilly. Too many short holes.

Nudgee (north east from the city out toward the airport):
    I haven't played either the north or south course just had a hit on the practice driving range. It's cheap at $8 for 90 balls, and the range itself is flat so you can judge your hitting distance, but the practice balls look like they've recently been chewed to bits by a rabid dog and leave marks and crap all over your club face. Doesn't look like the course is expensive to play.

Pacific Golf Course (south east from city)
    Nice course. A little tight and twisty, and up and down. I didn't see a practice driving range?

Gympie Pines Golf Course
    A stunning course. Very nice lush green fairways. Really nice for a beginner to just go out and hit long, and forgiving too - if you are wayward off the tee most of the time you can find your ball. My favorite course but NO PRACTCE/DRIVING RANGE! Aaahhh!

I live in Fortitude Valley. I'm leaning towards Nudgee as my regular club but pity about the condition of those practice balls dammit.

Thx if you can help.

If price isn't an issue, Indooroopilly has a good range.
    Moe Norman